It is our intent that personal, social and health education (PSHE) enables our children to become healthy, independent and responsible members of society. It aims to help them understand how they are developing personally and socially, and tackles many of the moral, social and cultural issues that are part of growing up. We provide our children with opportunities to learn about rights and responsibilities and appreciate what it means to be a member of a diverse society. Our children are encouraged to develop their sense of self-worth by playing a positive role in contributing to school life and the wider community so that they develop life-long skills.

At Mount Hawke Academy we use the SCARF PSHE scheme. 

SCARF provides a comprehensive spiral curriculum for PSHE education, including mental health and wellbeing.  Using SCARF across all age groups ensures progression in knowledge, attitudes and values, and skills – including the key skills of social and emotional learning, known to improve outcomes for children.

Our PSHE curriculum follows six units of study, each unit is revisited each year to enable progression in skills, knowledge and understanding.  Apart from the Relationship and Sex Education topics in the Growing and Changing unit where we teach the children in their year group, we teach in a two year rolling programme.  This means that all children in Year 5, for example, will be taught the Year 5 or Year 6 units and the opposite unit the following year.

The six units are:

  • Me & My Relationships
  • Valuing Difference
  • Keeping Myself Safe
  • Rights & Responsibilities 
  • Being My Best 
  • Growing & Changing
Below is Aspire Academy Trust's RSE Policy, our Curriculum Map for PSHE and RSE and  the progression documents for each of the six units. These outline the specific learning taking place in each year group. 

Mount Hawke Academy
School website design by eSchools. Content provided by Mount Hawke Academy. All rights reserved. 2024